Awards & Events


RIAS Andrew Doolan Award for Best Building in Scotland  Inaugurated in 2002 by Andrew Doolan, a respected architect and developer, this award is given annually to the best building in Scotland.  In 2004, following the death of its founder, we joined in partnership with the RIAS and the Doolan family to ensure that the Award continues its role in recognising outstanding achievement. The 12 schemes which received RIAS Awards in 2015 formed the RIAS Andrew Doolan Award shortlist.  The 2015 shortlist, indicating the winner and commentadtions can be found here:

Saltire Society’s Housing Design Awards The Saltire Society’s Housing Design Awards celebrate innovation and excellence in Scottish house building and placemaking.   As well as supporting the Housing Design Awards, the Scottish Government provides support for the Society's Innovation Award which recognises and places emphasis on the importance of pursuing new technologies and methods of construction to minimise life-cycle costs and energy use.  It is also intended to reward innovation in adaptability for changing needs and innovation in the financing and delivery of housing. The 2015 Housing Design Award winners including the winner of the 2015 Innovation Award can be found here:

Scottish Civic Trust My Place Awards With support from Scottish Government, the Scottish Civic Trust's My Place Awards recognise buildings, landscapes and public realm projects that have had a positive impact in a local neighbourhood and delivered tangible benefits to that community. The 2015 My Place Award winners can be found here:

Scottish Civic Trust My Place Photography Award With support from Historic Scotland, the My Place Photography Competition is a built environment photographic project run by the Scottish Civic Trust for primary and secondary school-aged children throughout Scotland. Across the world, thousands of children and young adults take part each year in the 'International Heritage Photographic Experience', supported by the Council of Europe.  The My Place Photography Awards are Scotland’s contribution to this initiative and the winning entries from these Awards go on to appear in it.  It aims to provide young people with the opportunity to express their thoughts, experiences and perspectives on the heritage, buildings and archaeology around them.  The 2015 My Place Photography Award winners can be found here: 

Scotland’s Client of the Year Award is a Scottish Government award which recognises the importance of a well-informed and enlightened client in delivering design excellence This Award is managed by the RIAS and, from 2014, will form part of RIAS Awards ceremony each year.  The 2015 RIAS Award winners, including Client of the Year winner can be found here:



Unbuilt Mackintosh: (12 August 2015 onwards. Mackintosh Interpretation Centre, The Lighthouse, Glasgow.) Unbuilt Mackintosh showcases stunning architectural models based on the unbuilt designs of Charles Rennie Mackintosh. The models produced by Glasgow-based model-makers Ozturk, are fantastically accurate and help us to appreciate Mackintosh’s architectural vision. See more at:

Best Use of Timber Awards Exhibition 2015: (14 December 2015 – 31 March 2016, Gallery Two, The Lighthouse, Glasgow.)

As part of the annual RIAS Awards scheme, Forestry Commission Scotland and Wood for Good have combined to sponsor an award aimed at encouraging innovative and creative use of timber in new buildings in Scotland.

The award seeks also to stimulate greater appreciation of home grown timber and its potential for use in construction, with added consideration given to thoughtful and appropriate use of different species. Technical competence is of course paramount and the design and detail of how the timber is used was as much a part of the assessment criteria as imagination and overall architectural excellence. There is no restriction on building type or scale of project – from small to large and from domestic to commercial, the challenge is to show how suited the use of timber is to the development of new architecture in Scotland. 
See more at:

SEDA Krystyna Johnson Award 2015 Exhibition: (23 October 2015 – 13 January 2016 Noticed Board - Level 2, The Lighthouse, Glasgow) 

The Krystyna Johnson Award enters its fourth year and is open to all second year architectural students across all five Scottish Schools of Architecture, to encourage ecological design in the mainstream. Projects put forward by the schools in 2015 ranged both in content and location, they included a biking centre in Inverness; a futuristic library in St Andrews; a place of shelter in Beith; an ecological primary school; and an Edinburgh community brewery. SEDA are happy to announce that our 2015 overall winner is Olivia Page from the Mackintosh School of Architecture for her project in Beith. See more at:

Material Considerations: A Library of Sustainable Building Materials (23 April 2015 onwards, Gallery Two, The Lighthouse, Glasgow) 

Library offering visitors a chance to explore and analyse a wide range of sustainable building materials has been opened by Architecture and Design Scotland at The Lighthouse, Glasgow. The purpose of the Library is to showcase sustainable, traditional and emerging low carbon building products in general and to promote and encourage innovation in construction in Scotland using indigenous resources. Supported by the Forestry Commission and the Scottish Government, it gives architects, builders, students and the public an opportunity to get hands on with a wide range of building materials – from slate through to sheep’s wool – available in Scotland, while learning more about each material’s sustainability credentials. The Materials Library offers visitors the opportunity to experience real samples of natural building materials and products at a variety of scales – from small samples to full-scale mock-ups. There is an emphasis on ‘bio-regionalism’, with sourcing based on indigenous products and traditional materials, re-envisaged for the 21st Century. This free library is open to the public Monday - Saturday 10:30 - 17:00 and no appointment is necessary.

See more at:


James Miller Student award : RIAS
The James Miller Student award exists to support architecture students from the Scottish Schools of Architecture who are studying in full or part time education on an approved course; it is designed to assist students who are facing hardship issues which affect their ability to complete all or part of their course.  More information can be found on the Royal Incorporation of Architects’ in Scotland website.

Scottish Community Projects Fund
The Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland, in association with the Robertson Trust, is seeking to promote the involvement of local people in the design, use and management of buildings and spaces as well as in the decision making process which affects their local environment.

Town centres and local high streets learning network
The Town Centres and Local High Streets Learning Network is a cross-Government initiative that supports people and organisations to improve the way Scottish town centres and high streets are made more vital and vibrant and lively. The network gives practical help to organisations and individuals involved in decision-making and providing front-line services.